Mariano Lake Chapter

  Bee akid Ho’ Teeli’


  • Mariano Lake Chapter is now accepting Housing Discretionary Applications for Spring 2023. The deadline is March 31, 2023 by 5:00 pm.
  • CLUPC Meeting for March 2023 has been POSTPONED, we will announce the meeting at a later date.
  • Mariano Lake Chapter March 2023 Regular Chapter Teleconference Meeting will be on Thursday, March 30, 2023 @ 10:00 am. The call in phone # is 813-702-1587 and the code is 223 511 652#.
  • We have waste disposal services @ $1.06 a bag or $7.42 for a truck load, only bagged trash. No tires, no furniture, no large items. Please bring correct change, thank you.
  • Wood permits are sold Monday-Friday between the hours of 9 am – 12 pm and 1 pm – 4 pm. Please bring valid i.d., CIB # and correct change. Call for prices.

Our Story

Our Mission
“To respectfully provide leadership, support and education to our community through communication and partnerships with local governments and community services.”

After the signing of the 1868 Treaty, an elderly man named Chief Munyanna settled the lake area. When asked for his name the Anglo could not spell it from the pronunciation so they renamed him Chief Mariano. The community did not have a name at the time. Chief Mariano and his scouts began construction of an earthen embankment to catch rain and melting snow runoff. The workmen used arrows, saddle blankets and rugs to excavate the silt to build the embankment. Soon after, the dam created a lake. Because Chief Mariano, mobilized the construction of the dam. The lake became known as “Mariano Lake”, and eventually, the community became known by the same name.

local chapter information

Smith Lake Chapter
Phone: 505-786-2141 | Fax: 505-786-2143

Pinedale Chapter
Phone: 505-786-2208 | Fax: 505-786-2211

Thoreau Chapter
Phone: 505-905-0139 | Fax: 505-905-0140

Crownpoint Chapter
Phone: 505-786-2130 | Fax: 505-786-2136

chapter officials 

Jay R. DeGroat,President
Henry T. Begay, Vice-President
Henry P. Begay, Jr., Secretary/Treasurer

Edmund K. Yazzie, Council Delegate

Anthony Begay, Land Board Member

chapter Staff 

Leandra K. James CSC
Myrna M. james ams
Martha Williams CHR